State of Emergency declared in Okmulgee County due to wildfire, drought

Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin has declared a state of emergency in 52 counties, including Okmulgee County, due to threat of wildfires across the state that began Thursday, April 12, and ongoing drought conditions. The executive order will be in effect for 30 days, and could be amended to include additional counties if needed. 

More than 200,000 acres have burned across the state since Thursday prompting numerous evacuations. Elevated fire weather is expected to continue today. 

By declaring a state of emergency, state agencies may make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary. 

A burn ban is still in effective for 16 counties in Oklahoma, making it unlawful for any person to set fire to any forest, grass, woods, wildlands or marshes; to build a bonfire or fire; to burn or ignite fireworks; or to burn trash or other materials outdoors. 

“I’m asking all Oklahomans to be vigilant and careful, and to do their part to prevent fires,” said Fallin. “Anything that can be done to maximize fires will help both our firefighters and the public safe.”

Other counties included in the governor’s declaration are: Alfalfa, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Carter, Cimarron, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Creek, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Garvin, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnston, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Lincoln, Logan, Love, Major, Marshall, McClain, Murray, Noble, Oklahoma, Okfuskee, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Roger Mills, Seminole, Stephens, Texas, Tillman, Washita, Woods and Woodward. 

Counties with burn bans include: Beaver, Beckham, Cimarron, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Kiowa, Roger Mills, Texas, Washita, Woods and Woodward. 

Rate this article: 
No votes yet