County Tournament on tap next week


Times Sports Editor


The 15th Annual Muscogee (Creek) Nation Okmulgee County Basketball Tournament will get underway this Monday afternoon at historic Brock Memorial Gymnasium on the campus of Okmulgee High School.

The first contest of the annual week-long county tournament will be the 2-time defending girls champion Beggs Lady Demons beginning defense of their tournament crown against the eighth-seeded Schulter Lady Bulldogs Monday at 4:30 p.m.

The other six teams that will join the Schulter ladies in attempting to dethrone the defending champions are the  Okmulgee Lady Bulldogs, Preston Lady Pirates, Dewar Lady Dragons, Henryetta Lady Knights, and Morris Lady Eagles.

On the boys side, the Okmulgee Bulldogs will look to become just the third county team to repeat as champions at the week-long tournament. The only other repeat champions on the boys side in the previous 14 tournaments have been the Henryetta Golden Knights and the Preston Pirates.

The Knights and Pirates, along with the Beggs Golden Demons, Morris Eagles, Dewar Dragons, Wilson Tigers, and Schulter Bulldogs will look to deny the Bulldogs' bid for a second-consecutive tournament championship.

The other opening-round game in the girls bracket on Monday will pit the Preston Lady Pirates, who have won the tournament a record seven times, against the Henryetta Lady Knights in a 7:30 p.m. showdown.

The first boys opening-round game on Monday will feature the Beggs Golden Demons taking on the Wilson Tigers at 6 p.m. The other first-round contest on the boys side on Monday will see the 7-time tournament champion Preston Pirates battling the Henryetta Golden Knights in a 9 p.m. showdown. (Preston and Henryetta met in the tournament finals three-straight years from 2011 to 2013.)

The first-round schedule will conclude on Tuesday with four games.

Tuesday's opening-round contests on the girls side will feature the Dewar Lady Dragons taking on the Morris Lady Eagles at 4:30 p.m. and the Okmulgee Lady Bulldogs going up against the Wilson Lady Tigers at 7:30 p.m. The final two boys first-round games on Tuesday will have the Morris Eagles and Dewar Dragons doing battle at 6 p.m. and the Okmulgee Bulldogs beginning defense of their tournament crown at 9 p.m. against the Schulter Bulldogs.

The first eliminations of the week-long tournament will occur on Wednesday with four consolation semifinal contests. The girls elimination games will be held at 4:30 and 7:30 p.m., respectively, while the boys elimination contests will take place at 6 and 9 p.m., respectively.

The 2018 championship games will be decided on Thursday with four semifinal contests. The girls Final Four games will be played at 4:30 and 7:30 p.m., respectively, while the boys semifinals will be held at 6 and 9 p.m., respectively.

The first pieces of hardware will be handed out on Friday, as the next-to-last day of the tournament will feature the girls and boys consolation finals at 5 and 6:30 p.m., respectively, and the girls third-place game at 8 p.m.

Saturday's final day of tournament action will get started at 5 p.m. with the boys third-place contest, followed by the girls championship game at 6:30 p.m. and the boys title game at 8 p.m.

There will also be a 3-point contest during the tournament. Preston's Aiyonna Tecumseh and Dewar's Dustin Blood will seek to defend their long-range titles, while seven other competitors will look to dethrone the 2017 champions.

Below is how the eight county schools are seeded in the tournament, a recap of last year's tournament action, and a list of tournament champions over the last 14 years.

You can find a complete tournament bracket on Page B4 of today’s Okmulgee Times.


2018 Okmulgee County

Tournament Seedings

Girls Bracket

#1 - Beggs Lady Demons

#2 - Okmulgee Lady Bulldogs

#3 - Preston Lady Pirates

#4 - Dewar Lady Dragons

#5 - Morris Lady Eagles

#6 - Henryetta Lady Knights

#7 - Wilson Lady Tigers

#8 - Schulter Lady Bulldogs


Boys Bracket

#1 - Okmulgee Bulldogs

#2 - Preston Pirates

#3 - Beggs Golden Demons

#4 - Dewar Dragons

#5 - Morris Eagles

#6 - Wilson Tigers

#7 - Henryetta Golden Knights

#8 - Schulter Bulldogs


2017 Results

Girls Bracket

First Round

Morris 63, Wilson 6

Preston 90, Henryetta 26

Okmulgee 43, Dewar 42

Beggs 57, Schulter 3

Consolation Semifinals

Dewar 60, Schulter 10

Henryetta 56, Wilson 41


Beggs 37, Okmulgee 35

Preston 61, Morris 31

Consolation Finals

Dewar 57, Henryetta 17

Third Place

Okmulgee 50, Morris 35


Beggs 51, Preston 50


Boys Bracket

First Round

Beggs 80, Morris 40

Preston 67, Wilson 42

Henryetta 66, Dewar 51

Okmulgee 76, Schulter 19

Consolation Semifinals

Dewar 74, Schulter 32

Morris 73, Wilson 40


Okmulgee 81, Henryetta 45

Preston 50, Beggs 46

Consolation Finals

Dewar 66, Morris 51

Third Place

Beggs 84, Henryetta 41


Okmulgee 61, Preston 59


Okmulgee County

Tournament Champions

Girls Bracket

2004: Preston

2005: Okmulgee

2006: Preston

2007: Preston

2008: Preston

2009: Preston

2010: Henryetta

2011: Dewar

2012: Dewar

2013: Beggs

2014: Preston

2015: Preston

2016: Beggs

2017: Beggs


Boys Bracket

2004: Okmulgee

2005: Preston

2006: Morris

2007: Okmulgee

2008: Preston

2009: Beggs

2010: Preston

2011: Preston

2012: Henryetta

2013: Henryetta

2014: Preston

2015: Preston

2016: Preston

2017: Okmulgee

Rate this article: 
No votes yet