Former Bulldogs to meet for 3rd Annual Alumni Basketball Game


Times Sports Editor


This Sunday, Brock Memorial Gymnasium will be the site of the 3rd Annual Bulldog Alumni Basketball Game.

The annual hoops contest will feature former Okmulgee High School basketball players squaring off against one another in a 4-quarter battle for bragging rights.

The OHS East Alumni team will be coached by former Okmulgee cage standout Antonio Rice, while the OHS West Alumni squad will be coached by former OHS assistant girls basketball coach Gwen Lang.

The 3rd Annual Bulldog Alumni Basketball Game will tip off at 3 p.m. with doors opening at 2 p.m.

At the conclusion of the Okmulgee Alumni Game, there will be a special added attraction that will take place.

For the first time ever, former basketball players from both Okmulgee and Preston will step on the Brock Gym court and square off in a 'Battle of the Towns' alumni basketball game.

The special event will pit 13 former Bulldogs against 13 former Pirates in a clash for county bragging rights.

The 'Battle of the Towns' event will tip off at 5:30 p.m. Coaching the Okmulgee alumni will be former OHS basketball standout and current Okmulgee assistant girls coach Mike Hill with Antonio Rice serving as assistant coach. The head coach for the Preston alumni will be former Preston girls basketball player Annabell LeBlanc with another former Lady Pirate player, Tess LeBlanc, serving as her assistant coach.

Admission to Sunday's event is $5 per person. There will also be a concession stand available during the event.

The members of the Okmulgee East Alumni team are: Quincy Douglass (1996), Richard Adjaye (2002), Brandon Fisher (2003), Caleb Mangum (2006), Antonio Young (2007), Michael Wilson (2007), Keironte Compton (2011), Ryan Smith (2011), and Jimell Tate (2017).

The members of the Okmulgee West Alumni team are: James Whitecloud (1991), Antonio Tarkington (2002), Dwoodson Fuller (2002), Chris Cooper (2007), Rod Powdrill (2008), Josh Mack (2009), Keith Mayfield (2011), Deveron Griffin (2012), and Michael Simmons (2017).

There will be six players on the Okmulgee Alumni roster for the 'Battle of the Towns' that will be used to fill roster spots in the Okmulgee Alumni Game. Those six players that will play in both games are: Ricky Smith (2002), Will Franklin (2002), Andrew Lewis (2002), John Neal (2004), Ed Mangum (2006), and Jordan Young (2014).

Three of these six players will play for the East Alumni squad, while the other three will play for the West Alumni team.

Simmons and Tate will also be a part of both games for Okmulgee.

Below are the complete rosters for both Okmulgee and Preston for the 'Battle of the Towns' alumni game that will take place at the conclusion of the Okmulgee alumni game.


Okmulgee Bulldogs

Head Coach: Mike Hill (2001)

Assistant Coach: Antonio Rice (2006)

Team Members

1 - Eric Johnson (2003)

5 - John Neal (2004)

6 - Jordan Young (2014)

8 - Damien Powell (2008)

10 - Jimell Tate (2017)

11 - Brian Dunlap (2004)

12 - Ricky Smith (2002)

13 - Will Franklin (2002)

14 - Donte Lewis (2004)

17 - Ed Mangum (2006)

18 - Savon Jordan (2014)

20 - Andrew Lewis (2002)

23 - Michael Simmons (2017)


Preston Pirates

Head Coach: Annabell LeBlanc (2008)

Assistant Coach: Tess LeBlanc (2005)

Team Members

0 - Jaylen Mayfield (2008)

1 - Brian Mayfield (2014)

2 - Phillip Dale (2005)

3 - Eric Cazenave (2005)

4 - Kameron Mayfield (2017)

5 - Marcus Reagan (2007)

7 - Ben Wright (2003)

10 - Willie Huffman (2011)

15 - Jesse Bear (2013)

20 - Kyle Brown (2008)

31 - Eric Motte (2010)

32 - Kalian Watkins (2011)

55 - Marco Brewer (2007)

Rate this article: 
No votes yet